Reception Year

Welcome to Reception! The Reception staff team are: Nicole Miller and Harriett Varney. 

In Reception we plan our learning and teaching using the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS). This is a statutory document and will be a continuation of your child’s learning if they attended a nursery setting. The framework sets the standards that all early year’s providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well, ensures children are kept healthy and safe and ensures that children have the knowledge and skills they need to start formal education.

Within the EYFS, children learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. Three of these areas are known as ‘prime areas’:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

The four ‘specific’ areas, build on the early foundations in the prime areas and are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Reception Year